Comment on page
Installation and Updates
Learn how to install and update NorrCompetition.
Please read the following information before installation:
Installation happens when no NorrCompetition components have previously been installed.
Update happens wen the component has already been installed and you are trying to install it again. You should not remove the component and install it again to make an update. You just need to install a package using the Extension Manager and the update will happen.
The installation package includes the following extensions:
- Content and system plugins which are needed for internal component operations
Separately, you can download the following modules and plugins, that are the part of the package:
- Entries module
- Contests module
- Search plugin
- Sitemap plugin
NorrCompetition is a component for Joomla and can be installed like any other extension using the Extension Manager in the administration area of your website. The installation procedure will take less than a minute.
To install the component login to Control panel of your website then choose Extensions > Extension Manager > Install > Upload Package File tab.
After successful installation you will see the following screen:
You can see that the component creates a menu with menu items that are needed for correct operation. You can also install a sample data to explore the component’s features.
The update process does not differ from installation.
Please make sure that a new version of component is available on the NorrNext website and download it. Then install it as an regular extension. The package will overwrite the existing files.
In case you have modified any of the component’s code your modifications will be erased on update. Please use template overrides.
Do not forget to make a backup of you website before the component update.
On component uninstallation, the following content will be removed:
- The component and the content plugin
- The component menu (
norrcompetition-menu) and its items (if it was not renamed or deleted previously)
Please note that the folder with uploads will not be deleted. So if you want to completely delete the contents of the component from your website, do not forget to delete the uploads folder manually (the path is set in the general settings).